CESAM researcher joins new scientific councils of FCT

Our researcher Ana Miranda (CESAM/DAO) has been appointed to the scientific council of the Foundation for Science and Technology (FCT) in the domain of Natural Sciences and the Environment. The new scientific councils of FCT were presented on April 19th at the Ministry of Science, Technology, and Higher Education, in a ceremony attended by the Minister, Elvira Fortunato, and the Board of Directors of FCT.

The Scientific Councils serve as advisory bodies to support the Board of Directors of FCT, playing a very relevant role in strategic advice and recommendations regarding the development, implementation, and adequacy of science and technology support programs. They are divided into four scientific domains: Exact and Engineering Sciences; Life and Health Sciences; Natural Sciences and the Environment; Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences.

These councils bring together a total of 46 members covering different areas of knowledge, including elements from the national scientific community as well as Portuguese researchers affiliated with foreign institutions. The composition also took into account institutional and geographical diversity as well as gender balance.

For more information, see here.