Management Structure

Coordination 2021-2025

Scientific Coordinator

Amadeu Mortágua Velho da Maia Soares, Full Professor (DBio, UA)

Scientific Vice Coordinators

Maria de Fátima Lopes Alves, Assistant Professor with Habilitation (DAO, UA)
Teresa Alexandra Peixoto Rocha Santos, Principal Researcher with Habilitation (DQui, UA)
João Miguel Sequeira Silva Dias, Full Professor (DFis, UA)
Ana Cristina de Fraga Esteves, Assistant Researcher (DBio, UA)

Scientific Council

The Scientific Council (SC) of CESAM consists of all integrated members of CESAM who have the right to vote and is presided over by the Scientific Coordinator. The SC can operate either in Plenary or through a Coordinating Committee.

In addition to integrated members, students from the Coordination of the Doctoral Student Group (GED) and up to 10 other doctoral students, as indicated by the GED on each occasion, may participate in the plenary as guests without the right to vote. Members of the Administrative and Management Staff of CESAM also participate without the right to vote.

The Coordinating Committee is composed of the Coordinator and Vice-Coordinators of CESAM, the scientific coordinators of the research groups, the scientific coordinators of the thematic lines, and the representative of postdocs.

The Coordinating Committee can convene as an Expanded Coordinating Committee. In this case, in addition to the members of the Coordination, two more integrated members from each research group and the students from the coordination of the GED can participate without the right to vote. Members of the Administrative and Management Staff of CESAM may also participate without the right to vote.


Catherine Mouneyrac, Université Catholique de l’Ouest, France
Damià Barceló, CSIC-IDEA, Spain
Emilio Fernández Suárez, University of Vigo, Spain
Fred Wrona, University of Victoria, Canada
Lindsay Stringer, University of York, UK
Joseph M. Culp, Wilfrid Laurier University, Environment and Climate Change Canada Research, Canada (substitute member)

Former members

Allen Burton, University of Michigan, USA
Eric Barton, Institute of Marine Research, Vigo, Spain
Geoffrey Millward, Plymouth University, UK
Hilary Kennedy, Bangor University, UK
João Coimbra, Instituto de Ciências Biomédicas Abel Salazar, Portugal
Miquel Canals, University of Barcelona, Spain
Peter Burbridge, University of Newcastle, Australia
Roy Harrison, University of Birmingham, UK
Sjaak Slanina, Peking University, Beijing, China

Stakeholders Consultation Committee

AIDA – Industrial Association of Aveiro District
APA-ARH Centro – Portuguese Environmental Agency
APA – Port of Aveiro
CCDRC – Centro Portugal Regional Coordination and Development Commission
CIRA – Aveiro Region Intermunicipal Community
DRAP Centro – Centro Region Department of Agriculture and Fisheries
Forum Oceano – Association of the Sea Economy
Fundação Oceano Azul
ICNF – Institute for Nature Conservation and Forests
INOVARIA – Companies Association for an Innovation Network